Republic of the Philippines - Stamps & Postal History

RP Issues of 2016











2016, February 1.  Court of Appeals, 80th Anniversary

Litho Offset, Amstar Company, Inc.,  Perf 14

Singles,  Sheets of  40



15p  Court of Appeals Building - Singles  (101,000) 



First Day Covers:  Manila





Philippines Court of Appeals - 80th Anniversary

The Court of Appeals, second highest tribunal of the land, was created on February 1, 1936 by virtue of Commonwealth Act No. 3 promulgated on December 31, 1935 with its eleven (11) Judges with Pedro Concepcion as the first Presiding Judge.

With the enactment of Commonwealth Act No. 259 dated April 7, 1938, the appellate judges were named justices and the composition of the Court of Appeals was increased to fifteen (15) justices. Executive Order No. 4 (1942) was issued by the Executive Commission on February 5, 1942, again increasing the number of justices to seventeen (17). In the latter part of 1944, it was regionalized into five (5) Districts -- Court Appeals for Northern, Central and Southern Luzon; for Manila and for Visayas and Mindanao.

With the abnormal conditions prevailing during the Japanese Occupation, the Court was abolished in 1945 when Pres. Sergio Osmeņa Sr. issued E.O. 37.

After the Japanese Occupation and with the passage of R.A. 52 sponsored by Sen. Vicente Francisco on October 4, 1946, the Court of Appeals was recreated consisting of a presiding justice and fourteen (14) associate justices. Marceliano Montemayor was the first post-war presiding justice. The first post -war legislation on the judiciary was R.A. No. 926, otherwise known as the Judiciary Act of 1948. The composition of the Court was increased to eighteen (18) by R.A. 1605; then to twenty-four (24) justices by R.A. 5204 on June 16, 1968. The number of CA justices was increased again to thirty-six (36) in 1973 and to forty-five (45) in 1978.

In 1983, there was a thorough judicial reorganization under Batas Pambansa Blg. 129. E.O. 864 was issued wherein the Court of Appeals was renamed Intermediate Appellate Court and its membership enlarged to fifty (50) associate justices and a presiding justice. However, only thirty-seven (37) justices were appointed.

With the change of government in 1986, President Corazon C. Aquino issued E.O. 33 on July 28, 1986, in which the name Court of Appeals was restored with a Presiding Justice and fifty (50) Associate Justices.





  • Government Institutions


Articles by Dr. Ngo Tiong Tak

Back to the Top


Issues of 2016