Republic of the Philippines - Stamps & Postal History

RP Issues of 2016











2016, July 1.  City of Tagbilaran - 50th Charter Day

Litho Offset, Amstar Company, Inc.,  Perf 14

Singles,  Sheets of  40 Souvenir Sheets of One + Label




15p  Tabgilaran City Hall "White House" - Singles  (101,000) 


Souvenir Sheets of One  (5,000)

100p Saulog Festival


First Day Covers:  Manila & Tagbilaran City







Tagbilaran City, Bohol - 50th Charter Day


The City of Tagbilaran obtained its cityhood on July 1, 1966, by virtue of Republic Act No. 4660 signed by then President Ferdinand Marcos.

A hundred years before Spaniards arrived in the Philippines, the settlement which eventually became Tagbilaran was already involved in trading with China and Malaya. This early settlement had contact with the Spaniards in 1565, when the Spanish conquistador Miguel López de Legazpi and the native chieftain Datu Sikatuna pledged peace and cooperation through the famous blood compact.

(San Jose de) Tagbilaran was established as a town on 9 February 1742, by General Don Francisco Antonio Calderon de la Barca, Governor of the Visayas, who separated it from the town of Baclayon. The town was dedicated to St. Joseph the Worker.  Since then it was part of the province of Bohol until it became a chartered city on 1 July 1966, by virtue of Republic Act No. 4660.

Sitio Ubos (Lower Town) is Tagbilaran's former harbor site and is considered to be the city's oldest portion, having been a busy trading center since the seventeenth century until the early twentieth century. As such, the place houses the oldest and largest number of heritage houses in Bohol. Sitio Ubos declined as a major port towards the end of the Spanish era when the causeway to Panglao Island was constructed. Since then, the area lost its former glory and its old houses were either demolished or neglected.

In 2002, in recognition of its cultural and historic significance, Sitio Ubos was declared a "Cultural Heritage Area". Some of the surviving heritage houses to this day include the Rocha–Suarez House, Rocha House, Hontanosas House, Beldia House, and Yap House.





  • Towns & Municipalities

  • Festivals



Articles by Dr. Ngo Tiong Tak

Back to the Top


Issues of 2016